A Brief History and Overview of the FIA Formula E World Championship

Formula E grid shot start - A Brief History and Overview of the FIA Formula E World Championship

was introduced in 2011 by Alejandro Agag and FIA President Jean Todt. It all started on the evening of March 3, 2011.

At that time Jean Todt and Spanish businessman Alejandro Agag met in a Paris restaurant. During the discussion, an idea emerged to create a single-seat car racing championship using electric .

Finally, they officially introduced Formula E to the world. ’s founding mission was to promote the use of electric cars in the world. In addition to reducing carbon emissions and pollution, FE also wants to introduce that electric cars also have a series of advanced features and hybrid systems.

The first event of Formula E came in 2014. At that time, Beijing was chosen as the first place to hold the FE race. Shortly after, Formula E continued to grow and became one of the most popular forms of entertainment in the world.

In its first season, 2014, Formula E introduced the Gen1 car which uses battery-electric technology and has never been tried on a race track. In addition, the rule of two cars per racer also balances the need for battery capacity during the race.

In his first series in Beijing on September 13, 2014, Lucas Grassi made history by becoming the first winner of a Formula E race. However, at the end of the season the winner was Nelson Piquet Jr. He beat Buemi’s points, who took second place.

Entering the second season, additional rules apply. Among them, such as allowing the team to design their own motor, inverter, gearbox, to switch power to 170 kW. This season, Sebastien Buemi came out as champion after defeating Lucas Grassi by narrow points.

In the third season, again there are several changes. One of them is the redesigned front wing. For the champion himself, the 2016/2017 season was won by Lucas Grassi.

Welcoming the fourth season, ABB came and became the main partner of Formula E. This season the Formula E Gen2 car was shown to the public. With the promise of more speed, more efficiency, this new car has a power of 180 kW.

Not only that, world car manufacturers have started to enter Formula E, such as Nissan, BMW, Audi, and . This season, Lucas Grassi won the title again.

The fifth season featured quite a number of significant changes in it. One of them is adding more power to the battery as well as a new format of 45 minutes + 1 lap to end the race. In addition, Formula E also creates an or Attack Mode. For this fifth season, the French racer Jean Eric Vergne became the winner.

In the sixth season, the world was hit by the Covid-19 pandemic, so this event was postponed. After a few months, the 2019/2020 season is back and Antonio Felix da Costa is the winner.

Entering its seventh season to date, Formula E is getting more and more popular. This event has even received status from the FIA ​​as a World Championship at the end of 2019.