Author: Linda Ma
Linda Ma has been reporting on the global electric vehicle industry for EVMagz.com since becoming a reporter in 2021, focusing on EV technology, battery innovation, charging infrastructure, and clean mobility trends across major markets. With a background in digital journalism and media communications, she brings a clear and engaging approach to complex industry developments. Outside of work, Linda enjoys watercolor sketching, early-morning yoga, and exploring independent coffee roasters.
Geely Auto reported its highest monthly sales of the year for the third consecutive month in October, supported by strong overseas deliveries and record new energy vehicle (NEV) sales. However, overall growth slowed as a deeper decline in the Chinese domestic market offset gains in international markets. The Chinese automaker sold 310,183 vehicles in October, up 0.99% year-on-year and 6.17% from September, according to figures released on Sunday. The result was its second-highest monthly sales total, falling just 245 vehicles short of the record 310,428 units recorded in November last year. October also marked a slowdown in annual growth. Geely’s…
Sunwoda plans to bring Xiaomi in as an investor in its electric vehicle battery business while abandoning its proposed Hong Kong listing, a restructuring that will result in the battery maker losing control of its subsidiary, Sunwoda Electric Vehicle Battery Co Ltd (Sunwoda EVB). Xiaomi will invest 1.7 billion yuan ($253 million) for a 5.34% stake in Sunwoda EVB, making it the subsidiary’s third-largest shareholder, according to a filing released by Sunwoda on Thursday evening. The investment will be made through Xiaomi’s wholly owned subsidiary, Hanxing Venture Capital Co Ltd. The companies have signed a capital increase agreement, although the…
CATL has advanced its all-solid-state battery development to 20 ampere-hour (Ah) sample trials, moving beyond its earlier 10 Ah-class validation platform, according to a report by Y-Auto. The development marks a further step in the company’s efforts to prepare the technology for potential commercial production. The company provided the update on October 27 in response to investor questions on the Shenzhen Stock Exchange’s Hudongyi platform. CATL is targeting small-batch production in 2027, followed by large-scale manufacturing around 2030. CATL said its solid-state battery development team comprises more than 1,000 people and has set an energy-density target of approximately 500 Wh/kg.…
Audi has formalized a division of responsibilities between its two Chinese joint-venture partners, assigning FAW Audi to the traditional four-ring brand and SAIC Audi to the China-specific AUDI brand. The company signed separate strategic agreements with China FAW and SAIC Motor to clarify brand positioning, strategic priorities and sales channel structures, Audi China said in a statement on Monday. Under the new arrangement, FAW Audi will strengthen the four-ring brand across both new energy vehicles (NEVs) and combustion-engine vehicles. SAIC Audi, meanwhile, will concentrate on the AUDI brand and its expansion in China’s NEV market. The restructuring preserves Audi’s dual-brand,…
Nio Reportedly Taps EVE Energy and Gotion for Contract Manufacturing of Large-Cylindrical Batteries
Nio is reportedly considering EVE Energy and Gotion High-Tech for contract manufacturing of its large-cylindrical battery cells, according to Chinese media reports. A small production batch could be completed by the end of 2026, although mass production is not expected in the near term due to manufacturing constraints and validation requirements. At the same time, Nio is increasing deliveries of prismatic batteries from CATL for its ONVO and firefly vehicle brands, reflecting the company’s continued reliance on established battery suppliers as it develops its own technology. Nio’s Large-Cylindrical Battery Development Nio began battery research and development in 2021 and subsequently…
Aistaland, the premium electric vehicle brand jointly developed by GAC Group and Huawei, is reportedly planning battery-swap models, CnEVPost reported, citing Lanjinger. The report did not specify how many models are planned, when they will launch or which batteries they will use. A source cited by Lanjinger said Aistaland could be among the first brands to introduce vehicles compatible with the network, pointing to its close collaboration with Huawei Qiankun. However, no official announcement has confirmed which brand will launch first. Huawei and CATL Expand Battery-Swap Partnership The report follows an October 19 agreement between Huawei’s automotive technology company Newcool,…
GAC Aion has opened pre-sales for the Ray 7, a new all-electric sedan developed to appeal to younger buyers in China. Prices start at 128,800 yuan ($19,160) and reach 158,800 yuan across five variants, with two main CLTC driving-range options of 530 km and 702 km. The Ray 7 is the first model in Aion’s new Ray series and the first to feature the brand’s redesigned logo. All variants use Huawei’s DriveONE integrated electric drive system and a single rear-mounted motor, while selected trims add LiDAR-based driver assistance and more advanced braking technology. The launch follows Aion’s announcement of the…
XPeng has introduced the G9L, an extended luxury version of its G9 electric SUV, expanding its flagship lineup with additional passenger space, premium seating and high-power charging technology. The all-electric model is being introduced across 64 countries, with European orders now open and the first customer deliveries scheduled for December 2026. Measuring 5.12 meters long, the G9L is designed for buyers seeking a spacious electric SUV with six- or seven-seat configurations. Its key technical features include an 800-volt electrical architecture, a 110 kWh battery and peak DC charging power of up to 540 kW. XPeng G9L Pricing and Variants XPeng…
Xpeng aims to sell 1 million vehicles annually worldwide by 2030, with Europe expected to account for approximately 500,000 units, Chairman and CEO He Xiaopeng said in an interview at the Paris Motor Show on Monday, according to Bloomberg’s October 12 report. The target would require a substantial expansion of the Chinese automaker’s European business and manufacturing capacity. Xpeng is discussing increased production in Austria with contract manufacturing partner Magna International while exploring potential manufacturing arrangements elsewhere in Europe. He identified production capacity as the company’s most significant bottleneck in the region, making local manufacturing expansion a key consideration as…
Zeekr, the premium vehicle brand under Geely, delivered 37,216 vehicles in September, an increase of 103.85% from the same month a year earlier and 0.64% from August. September marked Zeekr’s sixth consecutive monthly delivery record, extending a period of sustained growth throughout 2026. The brand has recorded both year-on-year and month-on-month delivery growth for eight consecutive months. With September deliveries included, Zeekr has delivered 288,404 vehicles so far this year, up 100.84% compared with the same period a year earlier. Since beginning deliveries in 2021, the brand’s cumulative deliveries have reached 931,293 vehicles. Zeekr 9X Adds Momentum to September Deliveries…
Luxeed, the electric vehicle brand jointly developed by Huawei and Chery, has launched an updated version of its R7 electric coupe SUV in China, with prices starting at 239,800 yuan ($35,580). The 2027 Luxeed R7 is offered in four variants: Max at 239,800 yuan, Max+ at 259,800 yuan, Max+ Long Range at 289,800 yuan and Ultra at 319,800 yuan. The entry price is 20,000 yuan below the previous model’s 259,800 yuan starting price, with the R7 having received its previous update only six months ago in March. Luxeed said customers who order the updated model can receive two years of…
The Epicland X9 is the first production model from Epicland, a new automotive brand jointly developed by Dongfeng Motor and Huawei. The large three-row, six-seat extended-range electric SUV is positioned as a family flagship and enters the premium SUV segment alongside models such as the Aito M9 and Li Auto L9. The X9 is offered with limited-time discounted prices ranging from 279,800 yuan ($41,460) to 359,800 yuan, compared with regular prices of 289,800 yuan to 369,800 yuan. Pre-sales began on August 18 at a starting price of 299,800 yuan. Epicland previously said orders exceeded 20,000 units within the first 24…
The 2027 Mazda EZ-60 is a mid-size new energy SUV developed by Changan Mazda for the Chinese market and global markets. The latest model expands the lineup to nine variants, including four new versions equipped with LiDAR-based advanced driver assistance technology. The updated EZ-60 continues to offer both extended-range electric vehicle (EREV) and battery electric vehicle (BEV) configurations. The EREV version combines a 1.5-liter range extender with a 190-kW electric motor, while the BEV version uses a 77.94-kWh LFP battery and a single rear-mounted electric motor. 2027 Mazda EZ-60 Specifications Specification 2027 Mazda EZ-60 Vehicle type Mid-size new energy SUV…
IM Motors, the electric vehicle brand of SAIC Motor, has launched the all-new L6 in China, significantly updating its core electric sedan as it competes in the 200,000-yuan to 300,000-yuan segment. The model starts at a limited-time promotional price of 199,900 yuan and offers up to 850 km of CLTC range. The new L6 is available in three regular variants, with the Max, Pro Max and Ultra priced at 199,900 yuan, 217,900 yuan and 259,900 yuan, respectively. Lower Entry Price for New L6 The entry-level Max is priced 20,000 yuan, or 9.1%, below the promotional price offered during pre-sales, which…
BYD has opened its 10,000th flash charging station in China, reaching half of its full-year deployment target as the electric vehicle manufacturer rapidly expands its self-built ultra-fast charging network. The milestone station is located in Shenzhen’s Longhua district. The new station was announced on Friday at BYD’s flagship flash charging facility in the city, less than five months after the company commissioned its 5,000th station. Flash Charging Network Doubles in Five Months BYD placed its 5,000th flash charging station into operation on April 1. Reaching 10,000 stations by August 28 means the network has doubled in less than five months.…
China plans to tighten market-entry requirements for new automotive products, including stricter testing and validation of innovative vehicle designs and autonomous-driving systems. The move is intended to address concerns over vehicle quality and safety as the country continues expanding its intelligent connected new energy vehicle (NEV) industry. Ministry of Industry and Information Technology (MIIT) Vice Minister Xin Guobin announced the measures at a press conference held by China’s State Council Information Office on Wednesday. Stricter Testing for New Vehicle Technologies Xin said some aggressive design innovations have been introduced into vehicles without sufficient testing and validation. At the same time,…
Seres-backed Saidou Technology is exploring a battery-swapping partnership with CATL that could give its Aiva electric vehicle brand access to an established public energy-replenishment network. Aiva is discussing battery swap cooperation with CATL, although the specific arrangements have not yet been finalized, LatePost reported on Tuesday, citing people familiar with the matter. The report did not disclose when the companies could finalize the agreement or which battery specifications would be used for the Aiva ME7, the brand’s first production model. Aiva ME7 Launch Plans The Aiva ME7 is scheduled to debut by the end of 2026, with pre-orders expected to…
Chery plans to open a passenger car research and development center in Bedfordshire, England, as the Chinese automaker expands its local operations and seeks to develop vehicles more closely adapted to the UK market. The facility is scheduled to open in late autumn 2026. Initial work will focus on vehicle calibration for UK driving conditions, with research expected to expand into autonomous driving and artificial intelligence. Chery Establishes UK Engineering Base Bedfordshire is an established automotive engineering and motorsport hub with several vehicle research and development facilities. https://evmagz.com/chery-to-invest-us75-million-in-kg-mobility-to-expand-global-partnership/ Chery plans to recruit local employees over time and develop high-skilled positions…
Leapmotor has launched the A05, a compact battery-electric hatchback, in Hangzhou with prices ranging from 63,900 yuan ($9,410) to 90,900 yuan. The model is the second vehicle based on the company’s A platform and is positioned for urban driving in China’s sub-100,000-yuan segment. The launch event was originally scheduled for Aug. 10 but was postponed by one day after Typhoon Dolphin made landfall in Zhejiang province. Two Battery Options Provide Up to 510 km Range The A05 is available with 39.8 kWh and 53 kWh lithium iron phosphate battery packs. https://evmagz.com/leapmotor-begins-local-ev-assembly-in-indonesia/ The smaller battery provides a CLTC-rated range of up…
BYD has filed an updated version of its Seal 07 sedan for regulatory approval in China, with the new model growing in size and gaining more powerful drivetrain options across battery-electric and plug-in hybrid configurations. China’s Ministry of Industry and Information Technology (MIIT) included three Seal 07 entries in its latest vehicle catalog released on Friday. The filings cover two battery-electric variants and one plug-in hybrid version. Larger Dimensions Expand Seal 07 Footprint The five-seat sedan measures 5,080 mm long, 1,960 mm wide and 1,495 mm high, with a wheelbase of 2,960 mm. That represents a substantial increase over the…